I continue to gather an arsenal of ideas to stash away for NaPoWriMo. One of the things I enjoy doing with poetry is experimenting with different forms. That’s how I first came across haiku and tanka way back when. Though I do hope that I succeed in more than flooding this blog with haiku through April. Sonnets, of course, I learned in school. But I stumble over my own feet, physically as well as poetically, and forms based on meter tend to be a painful exercise for me, though incredibly rewarding when I succeed.

In my late night web browsing, I found two sites that seem to have pretty good lists and descriptions of poetic forms. Poetic Forms & Techniques over at poets.org has more than 30 entries, each linking to a more detailed page.  At PoemofQuotes.com, they list 51 Types of Poetry. Each has a short paragraph of explanation, though no external links. If that’s not enough to jump start me, there’s always Wikipedia to the rescue. Hey, Wikipedia comes to my rescue a lot.

Also during that late night internet exploring, I ran across The Journal which has numerous writing, journaling, and poetry prompts and exercises.  The Poetry Prompts caught my eye with such ideas as Write a free verse poem using “sparrows” or write a poem with a seasonal theme. There are also several form prompts: write a solo “renga” and write a Tercet, among others, some of which I will have to look up. More late night web wandering!

