The veggies in the garden have been producing!
green peppers 20100908_1                    tomatoes 20100908_2

I was browsing the web for recipes, specifically slow cooker recipes, that would use the most of my harvest. I found this slow cooker chili at allrecipes.com:

Ingredients
* 1 pound ground beef
* 3/4 cup diced onion
* 3/4 cup diced celery
* 3/4 cup diced green bell pepper
* 2 cloves garlic, minced
* 2 (10.75 ounce) cans tomato puree
* 1 (15 ounce) can kidney beans with liquid
* 1 (15 ounce) can kidney beans, drained
* 1 (15 ounce) can cannellini beans with liquid
* 1/2 tablespoon chili powder
* 1/2 teaspoon dried parsley
* 1 teaspoon salt
* 3/4 teaspoon dried basil
* 3/4 teaspoon dried oregano
* 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
* 1/8 teaspoon hot pepper sauce
Directions
1. Place the beef in a skillet over medium heat, and cook until evenly brown. Drain grease.
2. Place the beef in a slow cooker, and mix in onion, celery, green bell pepper, garlic, tomato puree, kidney beans, and cannellini beans. Season with chili powder, parsley, salt, basil, oregano, black pepper, and hot pepper sauce.
3. Cover, and cook 8 hours on Low.

I did some adapting on the fly.
I chopped up my fresh tomatoes instead of using tomato puree.
tomatoes 20100908_19

I used fresh herbs instead of dried. Although I knew that I needed more herbs since I was using fresh (3x from what I’ve read on the net), I wasn’t into measuring that night, I was just running out and grabbing sprigs and snipping them into the crock pot. So I’m not sure I used enough.
basil and parsley 20100908_18                     oregano 20100908_17

I did not use the hot sauce. My internet was offline that evening, or I might have found a way to incorporate DrQuuxum‘s cayenne peppers in its place. Despite my very low spice tolerance, the chili ended up a little bland.
peppers 20100908_9

I have curry, chili powder, and minced garlic sitting out to add to the leftovers. DrQ, on the other hand, likes the chili quite well the way it came out; he said it just needed some salt. He found the bean to beef ratio perfect, while three cans of beans ended up being too much for my gut. However, I still rank my first attempt at harvest cooking a success.

